Home LSU Basketball LSU Enters SEC Tournament as Top Seed

LSU Enters SEC Tournament as Top Seed

The path is now set for No. 9 LSU in their quest to claim their first SEC tournament title since 1980.

Regular season SEC champion LSU (26-5, 16-2) is the No. 1 seed and will have a double-bye in the conference tournament being held in Nashville, Tennessee at Bridgestone Arena.

The other three teams with double-byes are No. 2 Kentucky, No. 3 Tennessee and No. 4 South Carolina.

LSU begins in the quarterfinals (noon, ESPN) on Friday against the winner of No. 8 Florida vs. No. 9 Arkansas. LSU’s lone losses in SEC play came at home against both teams. LSU lost to 90-89 to Arkansas on Feb. and were defeated 82-77 in overtime by Florida on Feb. 20.

LSU won both games on the road, knocking off Arkansas 94-88 in overtime on Jan. 12 and edging Florida 79-78 on March 7.

If LSU advances, they’ll play on Saturday in the semifinals (noon, ESPN) vs. either Missouri, Georgia, Auburn or South Carolina.

LSU is 5-0 against those opponents. LSU defeated visiting Missouri 86-80 in overtime on Jan. 26. LSU beat Georgia at home (92-82 on Jan. 23) and on the road (83-79 on Feb. 16). LSU won 83-78 against visiting Auburn on Feb. 9. LSU cruised to an 89-67 victory against visiting South Carolina on Jan. 19.

The championship game will be on Sunday at noon on ESPN.

LSU clinched the SEC regular season title with a five-game winning streak down the stretch against Tennessee (82-80), Texas A&M (66-55), at Alabama (74-69), at Florida and vs. Vanderbilt (80-59).

The parents of the late Wayde Sims cut down the nets after LSU sealed the SEC regular season crown vs. Vanderbilt.

Three LSU players were honored on Tuesday with individual recognition by the SEC.

Tremont Waters was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year (along with Kentucky’s Aston Hagans), as well as being a member of the All-SEC first team and All-Defensive team. Waters leads LSU in scoring (15.3), assists (5.9) and steals (3.1).

Skylar Mays is the Scholar Athlete of the Year and earned All-SEC second team honors. Mays, who holds a 4.01 GPA in pre-med/kinesiology, is second on the team in scoring (13.6) and steals (1.9).

Naz Reid was selected for the All-Freshman team. Reid is third on the team in scoring (13.3) and first in rebounds (6.9).

In 1980, LSU won their lone only SEC tournament championship and reached the Elite Eight, bowing out to eventual national champion Louisville.

Nearly four decades later, LSU wants to make some more madness this March.