Home Featured Teams LSU Tigers LSU Stakes Claim as Best College Football Team in History

LSU Stakes Claim as Best College Football Team in History

lsu national championship
Photo courtesy of LSUsports.net

In the French spirit of the Bayou, Laissez les bons temps rouler. The purple and gold confetti has fallen and the glorious trophy has been raised. For the first time since 2011, LSU has captured the national championship. And the Tigers certainly accomplished their mission in memorable fashion.

No 1 LSU capped off the storybook campaign with a 15-0 record after defeating No. 3 Clemson 42-25 in the national championship game from New Orleans.

After a slow start in which they only scored seven points until midway through the second quarter, LSU heated up the rest of the way to claim the program’s fourth national title.

In his final game with LSU, Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow set national title game records for passing yards (463), passing touchdowns (5), and overall touchdowns (6). Ja’Marr Chase caught nine receptions for 221 yards and two touchdowns. Thaddeus Moss tallied two touchdowns. Justin Jefferson had nine receptions for 106 yards. Clyde Edwards-Helaire rushed for 110 yards. Terrace Marshall Jr. hauled in a touchdown reception.

In total, LSU amassed a staggering 628 yards offensively. Afterward, Burrow beamed with joy about fulfilling his lifelong dream. The fact that it took place in the Superdome made it even sweeter.

“This is what I wanted to do from the time I was 5 years old, was hoist this trophy…” Burrow said. “…Staying in Louisiana, we weren’t going to let someone come in here and steal this from us in our home state. We have a great fan base that came out and supported us. We were going to keep this thing right here.”

The LSU defense buckled down to hold Clemson to eight points in the second half. Clemson finished 1-for-11 on third-down efficiency.

Clemson (14-1) entered as the defending national champions and riding a 29-game winning streak. Now it’s LSU who sits atop the throne of college football and aims to build a dynasty in Baton Rouge.

LSU coach Ed Orgeron will forever cherish his time with Burrow and the special bond they share.

“He’s one of the greatest players in LSU history,” Orgeron said. “He’s done so much for the state of Louisiana and LSU. We are so grateful to Joe Burrow.”

Watch more LSU national championship post-game videos.

LSU defeated seven teams ranked in the top 10 (Texas, Florida, Auburn, Alabama, Georgia, Oklahoma, Clemson) en route to the national title. LSU scored at least 40 points an astounding 12 times this season. All but two of LSU’s victories were by double digits.

LSU members earned the Heisman (Burrow), Biletnikoff (Chase), Thorpe (Grant Delpit) and Coach of the Year (Orgeron).

Orgeron, a proud Louisiana native, believes this group will go down as one of the most special to ever grace the gridiron.

“This team is going to be mentioned as one of the greatest teams in college football history,” Orgeron said. “15-0, as one of the greatest teams in LSU history. But that’s for you guys to decide.”

As Burrow departs for the NFL, he leaves behind a sterling standard for the next generation of LSU players to strive for. Burrow now holds the single-season records for most touchdown passes (60) and most overall touchdowns (65) in FBS history.

The modest Burrow knows how much he’s revered in Louisiana, however, it’s the legacy of his team that matters most to him.

“I don’t know about the whole hero thing,” Burrow said, “but I know this national championship will be remembered for a long time in Louisiana.”

Carley McCord’s husband posts touching tribute

Steven Ensminger Jr., the son of LSU’s offensive coordinator, dedicated the victory to his late wife Carley McCord, a sports reporter who passed away last month in a plane crash.

“This one’s for you, baby! I love you!”

To honor Carley during the game, a seat in the press box was saved in her memory.

After the game, LSU supporters flood Twitter in celebration

Twitter was abuzz with congratulatory messages for LSU. Here’s a sampling of some of the tweets in the aftermath of LSU’s monumental accomplishment: